What makes ABET accredited engineering programs so special

World-renowned technology accreditation

The Welser FH bachelor's degree in innovation and product management was the first 6-semester Bachelor course in the world to receive the international ABET accreditation in the field of "Engineering". The renowned ABET accreditation is the only global quality assurance system for technical university courses. This confirms the high, standardized quality of the teaching content, the professors, the practical relevance and the graduates. In addition, the international reputation of the Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences and the Wels University of Applied Sciences course in innovation and product management will be strengthened.

“With its technical courses, the Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences is one of the best universities internationally. This once again confirms this internationally recognized ABET accreditation. On the one hand, this further strengthens the international reputation of the Upper Austria University of Applied Sciences and, on the other hand, it also represents a unique selling point within Austria. Michael Rabl.

Also MIT, Harvard, Yale with ABET accreditation
ABET is an independent American accreditation agency that consists of 34 technical professional societies and awards accreditations in 4 commissions: Applied Science, Computing, Engineering and Engineering Technology. Accreditation is granted at associate, bachelor and master level - only courses, no universities, faculties or institutions.

So far, 2,400 courses of study in engineering have been accredited with the ABET label, with the majority in 2071 in the USA. Well-known universities such as MIT, Harvard or Yale are also ABET-certified. Many American companies currently only employ university graduates who have successfully completed a technical degree with the ABET label. Since 2007, ABET has also expanded increasingly into the international education market. In Europe, around 50 courses are currently accredited at eight universities in Portugal, Spain, Turkey and now in Austria.