What is Dataroom in SQL Server


Write-back list

When you highlight a database object for a restore operation, the list box displays the following information for a backup object:

  • Backup object type
  • Status (active / inactive)
  • The date and time the backup object was created
  • size
  • Stripe configurations
  • Cluster
  • Backup object identifier

In the Restore Databases tab, you can view the following additional information about a specific backup by highlighting the backup in the tree structure:

  • Assigned data room
  • Occupied data room
  • Allocated log storage
  • Log memory used
  • Data Protection for SQL version
  • SQL Server version
  • SQL database compatibility level
  • Standard code page ID
  • Unicode locale ID
  • Unicode comparison style

The Group / File Restore tab displays the following information for group objects when a backup object is highlighted (if the backup was previously expanded):

  • Group name
  • Allocated group storage
  • Allocated group memory
  • Primary group

The Groups / Files Restore tab shows the following for a file object when a group is highlighted:

  • Name of the logical file
  • Physical file name
  • Associated file space
  • Occupied file area

Shortcut menu:

You can view more restore options by right-clicking a selected item in the list box. With the Write back groups / files tab, this menu is only available if a database is highlighted in the tree structure. All associated backup objects are displayed in the list box and the menu is available for any selected objects.

This shortcut menu is not available when the Partial Restore check box is selected.

The dialog box, which is called up by clicking the right mouse button, contains the following elements:

Write back in
This option allows you to specify the database to which a backup object is to be restored. Click Write Back To to display an edit window. If multiple databases are selected for restore, the name specified in Restore To applies only to the selected backup object that you right-clicked. If other selected backups require the Restore To parameter, you must specify them one at a time, but this can be done in a single restore operation.
Relocate
This option allows you to specify the new location for a SQL database file when restoring backups. Click Move to bring up a list window that contains a list of logical / physical file name pairs that can be edited. This menu item only appears in the Restore Databases window and is available for all backup types with the exception of log backup objects in SQL Server 7.0.
File to undo the standby server
This option allows you to specify the file to undo the standby server for a restore to a standby SQL database. If the target SQL database is not already in standby mode, it is placed in standby mode. This menu item only appears in the Restore databases window and is available for full, differential and log backups; however, the databases can only be taken into account one after the other. Click this option to specify an edit window for the name of the file to be revoked. Once specified for a database, this option is applied to all backup objects for that database. The same applies: If this option is removed for one backup object, this also applies to all other backup objects.