How do you see all African countries

Africa southern of the Sahara

The sub-Saharan Africa region (also: Sub-Saharan Africa) includes 49 of the 54 African countries. Around 920 million people live there. The continent is often associated with wars and disease, hunger and misery. In fact, Africa is one of the poorest regions in the world: Millions of people still live in poverty, there is a lack of clean water and adequate health care. But that's only part of the truth. Africa is also a continent of opportunity. Several African countries are now among the fastest growing economies in the world; the average growth rate in recent years has been 6%. The telecommunications industry in particular is booming, and in many countries banking has long been carried out using mobile phones.

Africa is changing: but growth must also reach the poor. And KfW Development Bank contributes to this on behalf of the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) by funding numerous projects and programs that are agreed with the partner governments: schools and roads are built, health stations are built, water supply and Wastewater disposal improved, renewable energy sources established and expanded. There is support in agriculture, with food security and small loans for small and medium-sized entrepreneurs so that they can build a livelihood for themselves. Governments are supported in decentralizing their administrations. In 2019, KfW Development Bank pledged around EUR 2.1 billion for Sub-Saharan Africa.